question

richard3755 avatar image
richard3755 asked David Marginian Deactivated commented

Clover API authorisation etc

Hi,

I'm a developer implementing a reporting solution for a customer who are using the Clover POS, alongside other sales channels. We have a requirement to pull out order data onto an external system for reporting etc. We are under some pressure to get this job done quite quickly, and we have a few questions, so would appreciate your help.

Having had a look at the Clover API documentation, it seems that although a merchant API token is provided in the account web interface, you state that production apps must use Oauth2 to authenticate/authorise users. Currently, we have no interest in publishing an app to the Clover marketplace; we only want to pull order data through the API so that we have corresponding data in the external system for reporting.

Would using the merchant token provided in the web interface be suitable for this basic integration? I note that in the documentation you state it is heavily rate limited but we would perhaps only be making a small number of calls each hour, for example, just to grab the order data.