question

dja avatar image
dja asked dja answered

Can't get authentication token

Hello, I am new to clover and I am currently trying to connect to it through its API, but so far I've been unable to do so. First I thought that I could try sandbox mode, I have an unpublished app in my account and I make a curl request like

curl -X GET -H "Accept: application/json" -H "Content-Type: application/json" https://apisandbox.dev.clover.com/oau...id={myappid}&clientsecret={myappsecret}&code={mymerchanttoken}

{myappid} and {myappsecret} are just as they appear in my "Your Apps" section, and {mymerchanttoekn} I get it through an emulator running the clover platform, which I still don't know if it is the code to get an authentication token or the actual authentication token. Either way when I try this request the response says:

{"message":"Unknown Client ID"}

Even though it is the EXACT ID that appears on my dashboard.

After this I tried to change the request to actual clover instead:

url -X GET -H "Accept: application/json" -H "Content-Type: application/json" https://www.clover.com/oauth/token?cl...id={myappid}&clientsecret={myappsecret}&code={mymerchanttoken}

but when I make this request I get

{"message":"Please specify a secret"}

I am really lost to what is happening here, since in one place it tells me there is no app with that ID and in the other it tells me that I am actually sending no secret even though I am. This is my first time with Clover and OAuth so I might be missing something but I couldn't find anything else in the documents that could help me, so any help (or question about my problem) is appreciated.

Update: